Napa Violent Crime Lawyer
Have you been charged with a violent crime?
Crimes involving violence against another person are some of the most heavily prosecuted and punished crimes in California. The state, and nation, takes violent offenses seriously in the name of public safety and penalties for conviction are levied with the full force of the law.
Unfortunately, to reduce violence in the state, law enforcement can be overzealous in fighting this crime. There are many who are innocently charged and unfairly convicted of violent crimes every year. If you have been accused of or arrested for a crime of violence, you should contact a Napa violent crime attorney immediately to begin fighting for your rights.
Facing charges for assault or another violent crime? Contact our attorney today for the defense you deserve.
Types of Violent Crimes in California
A violent crime is considered any crime involving the threat or intent to harm another person. This can include both misdemeanors and felonies and range from making criminal threats to committing 1st-degree murder.
Types of violent crimes that we can help defend you against at the Law Office of Douglas Pharr include:
- Aggravated assault
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Domestic violence
- False imprisonment
- Voluntary manslaughter
- Involuntary manslaughter
- Weapons-related charges
Conviction of many of the violent crimes included above can be counted against someone’s record as a strike according to California’s “Three Strikes Law.” With every additional conviction, the penalties increase and the stakes become higher.
Assault & Battery
At their most basic level Assault and Battery involve harmful or offensive contact with the person of another individual, or an attempt to do so. The touching may occur with use of weapons or body parts, such as fists. The potential consequences for such charges include:
- State prison
- Jail time
- Anger management counseling
- And/or firearm restrictions
If the attack involved someone you lived with, a spouse, or someone you were in a dating relationship with, you may be required to complete a 52 week domestic violence class if convicted.
Simple Assault in California
Every state in the United States severely punishes an assault crime. Also, every state punishes an assault crime differently. In California, a simple assault is defined as an unlawful attempt, with a present ability to commit a violent injury to a person other than you. You don’t even need to commit the crime to be charged for simple assault.
Simple Assault can be charged as a misdemeanor and you can be fined up to a $1000 and jail time of up to 6 months. The fact that you don’t even have to injure one can make this law complicated. This is why some people are falsely accused or wrongfully arrested for simple assault.
The Law Office of Douglas Pharr – The Legal Defense You Deserve
If you have been arrested or charged with a violent crime, equipping yourself with strong legal defense is impertinent to the outcome of your case. Not only could you be facing jail time and extreme fines upon conviction, but the impact this may have on your record, and your future is simply not worth the risk. With more than 20 years of legal experience under his belt, Doug Pharr defends his clients with every resource available.