Napa Domestic Violence Attorney
Over 20 Years of Results-Driven Legal Service
In California, a charge of domestic violence can rapidly cause harm to your future. In most cases, a judge will issue a protective order that keeps the accused away from their home and loved ones until they face criminal charges in court.
If this is your situation, make sure you have an experienced Napa domestic violence lawyer on your side by calling the Law Office of Douglas Pharr. With decades of experience and numerous industry awards, you can count on our team to fight for your rights.
Call (707) 674-5868 now or contact our firm online for a free consultation about your domestic violence case.
What to Do if You Are Charged
The moments following an arrest are sensitive. If you fail to act in accordance with a restraining order, for example, you could face worse consequences than you did before. You should instead contact a criminal defense attorney who can help you consider the details of your situation and avoid losing your freedoms.
If you are convicted of domestic violence, you face:
- Thousands of dollars in fines
- Jail or prison sentences ranging from one to six years
- Mandatory abuse counseling
- A criminal history following you in the future
What are the possible defenses to domestic violence in California?
If you are facing charges, our Napa domestic violence attorney is well-equipped to craft the right defense for your case. Some common defense strategies include:
- The defendant’s actions did not cause the victim’s injuries
- The victim falsely accused the defendant
- The injuries that the victim endured were the result of an accident
- The defendant’s actions were in self-defense or to defend another person
In some circumstances, our attorney can even negotiate a plea bargain for a lesser offense. Don’t hesitate to get the defense you deserve if you have been accused of domestic abuse.
What is the Statute of Limitations for Domestic Violence in California?
The statute of limitations for domestic violence charges in California is three years.
How Do You Get a Domestic Assault Charge Dropped?
You can get a domestic assault charge dropped by doing the following:
- Gain the prosecutor’s support: If the prosecuting agency decides to drop the charges, then it will be dropped. This is difficult to achieve because many prosecuting agencies have a “no-drop” policy when it comes to domestic violence charges. This is because it sends a message that domestic violence charges are serious and should be treated aggressively.
- Request a Copy of the Police Report: Having access to the police report’s evidence will help an accused defend against the allegations.
- Give a True Account of the Event: After looking at a police report, the domestic violence charge could be a false allegation. If it is a false allegation, the defendant should give their story and should match the police report.
Is Battery the Same As Domestic Violence?
Battery is related to domestic violence. Domestic Battery is one of California’s domestic violence crimes. Battery is considered the willful and lawful use of force or violence done to another. Simple battery can lead to a fine of up to $2,000 and a jail time of up to six months. If you commit domestic battery, you can face a fine of $2,000 and/or a jail time of one year. You may also be required to make payments to a battered women’s shelter and pay the victim’s medical, counseling, and other costs due to the abuse.
How to Fight the Charges
Not all domestic violence cases are the same. Sometimes, people file charges out of frustration. Once they see the consequences they enacted, they try to revoke the charges and change the outcome, but by then it's too late. While this information will be useful in fighting your charges, your case is now in the hands of local prosecutors.
The Law Office of Douglas Pharr can help you examine the charges and evidence filed against you so that you can tell your side of the story. Our relationships with legal personnel allow us to negotiate on your behalf so that you have the best chance at a favorable outcome. The best thing you can do for yourself is to get help early.
Facing charges for domestic violence in Napa? Get started on your defense today by calling (707) 674-5868.